Man Kind

IMG_1650

I envy a dog’s life
His bite traded me
To the injector
Five times
To insulate me from
Rabbi or Rabies?
I get confused between the two

I envy a pig’s life
He binges aplenty
In the balmy sauna
Rated by performance
Not by bank balance

I envy the blood-sucking mosquitoes
Before you curse, slap hard
They are gone, only to return
If I rob a bank, I go to jail
When bankers steal
Government prints them more money
Taxes me

But I don’t envy the roaring tiger
His prowess, unworthy
His dominance, unflattering
He succumbs to the mean arrows
Chopped, traded
Skin to teeth

85 thoughts on “Man Kind

  1. Sweet! I especially love this part because it is so true and I don’t think people really think about it as much as they should:

    When bankers steal
    Government prints them more money
    Taxes me

  2. What a poem and photo and the title, very good I may say…all I can say bankers are animals😉 and the animals are way better than the government.

  3. words full of REALITY DEVASTATING.
      and BE IN HARMONY WITH WHO THINK THAT WE SHOULD LEARN FROM ANIMALS.
    In THE HUMAN WORLD NOW HAVE LOST TOO MANY VALUES.
    PEOPLE WHO STAY AFLOAT IS THE MAN SENSITIVE. … HELPS ITS LIKE.
    BECAUSE FIGHTING AND LOVE UNCONDITIONALLY.

    THEN THERE ARE ROTTEN APPLES!
    BUONA GIORNATA
    AMICO LONTANISSIMO A TE E ALLE TUE DOLCI PRINCIPESSE. ♥
    vento

    • Grazie per aver condiviso i tuoi pensieri preziosi.
      L’uomo è in guerra con la natura e la fauna selvatica, ma credo che un anime manciata poche ristabilire l’ordine e la pace.
      Tutti mi sta chiedendo chi è questa bella signora, il tuo nuovo amico su facebook?
      arrossisco
      Buona giornata Vento!
      Arjun

      • I do not know if the white color in India has the same meaning as in Italy.
        but white is the color of purity and nobility of mind.
        They are good people, who love, and suffer more than others because of their high sensitivity.
          you to me are that. When I saw that you are not alone,
        I felt great joy.
        There are things that can not be explained ..
        I thought you were a very sad and maybe in your heart
        but in the evening I came home … there are two princesses waiting for you.
        This is a great happiness for me ..

        • Lei gratta suo naso
          Strofina ella viso
          Lei si allontana da me
          Quando mi carezza la mia principessa nel sonno

          Cavalli bianchi con le ali
          Chase una nuvola solitario su una rupe è
          Ella sogni frequente

          Io aspettare con gli occhi bramosi fino a quando
          Essa Diventa insopportabile per me

          Vorrei gentilmente toccare la ella mano un paio di volte
          Lei farfuglia non so cosa
          Ma lei si gira di nuovo
          ella braccio su di me
          Abbiamo coccole insieme
          E un sorriso attraversa ella viso
          Perfetto.
          Ho chiuso gli occhi
          buonanotte

  4. Invidio la vita di un cane
    Il suo morso mi ha scambiato
    All’iniettore
    Cinque volte
    Per isolare da me
    Rabbi o rabbia?
    Mi confondo tra i due

    Invidio la vita di un maiale
    Egli abbuffate in abbondanza
    Nella sauna mite
    Valutato da prestazioni
    Non da conto in banca

    Invidio i succhia-sangue zanzare
    Prima vi maledicono, uno schiaffo duro
    Se ne sono andati, per poi tornare
    Se rapinare una banca, vado in prigione
    Quando i banchieri rubano
    Governo li stampa più soldi
    Tasse me

    Ma non invidio la tigre ruggente
    La sua prodezza, indegno
    La sua posizione dominante, poco lusinghiero
    Egli soccombe alle frecce media
    Tritato, negoziati
    Pelle ai denti..

    Bravo! Veramente bella…!
    ciao
    .marta

  5. I’ve always envied a dog’s life. Especially when my Mom is taking care of it. Great home cooked meals, warm bed, long walks and all the love in the world🙂

    • I know that feeling, Damn!
      Dogs behave so obediently, love unconditionally, we can’t cope up alike.

      Human beings secretly desire to be followed blindly, no questions asked makes a dog perfect candidate.
      For eg. ask anyone around, they’d prefer a twitter account with a million plus followers.

  6. Love this poem, Arjun! Like one of your commentators commented, “Man is anything but kind.”. Your poem conveys the very positive traits of so many animals. Good photo, too. And molto grazie for commenting on my pieces today. Your comment disappeared through some stupid stroke on my part. Also upset with WP. I am following this blog and your other and not getting notified of new posts– maybe a time lag. I found this on my own– thought you had been strangely quiet.

    • Thank you Ellen. You should check out Eric’s blog. He’s a brilliant writer.
      It happens quite often. Posts don’t appear on the Reader section.
      Friends catch up some point or the other

  7. I saw a deer this winter, one that we call an ‘unkillable buck’, because they are too crafty and smart to succumb to estrus-related carelessness, and thus they live longer and leave behind massive racks of horns achievable only after many years. The fellow that I saw, and who I believe would understand your poem, was so tall that his head was lost in the lower branches of a large holley tree

    • Most of my readers are unkillable bucks. The tree reminds me of this printer I met. He said 1000 copies at least. That’s when I decided blog is better. Why chop couple of “Holy” trees for my poetry book.

    • Ha Ha! Well said.
      In fact I should rework that particular paragraph. The characteristics of parasites and poetically speaking oscillates with bankers much apropos than mosquitoes. Thank you.

  8. First: Fantastic poem. I sometimes envy the stones because they are quiet and they don’t feel pain. But when I remember that they don’t love or joy either and I don’t envy them anymore.🙂
    And second: You speak Italian. So you see, you speak many many languages. The one of poetry, the one of photography, the one of smiles and the one of tears, your native language, English, Italian and many others, I’m sure.😉

    • Thank you, Ela.
      Stones too have life, they say but no thing or being has the ability to experience and emote love and joy as intense as human beings. Being superior it becomes more important for us to act more responsibly and be tolerant with animals.
      Nooo..That’s thanks and no thanks to google translate. This one blogger helped me realize when I use translation software, the meaning and texture changes dramatically. So it’s important to translate back to English and cross-check if the version retains the original😉

  9. I love the way you use photography and words both complement each other not overpowering succinct ..great stuff!

  10. I am impressed with how your site looks. I love poetry and am getting back into expressing myself through it. Thank you for visiting me. I shall enjoy visiting you as well. Seems we have similar tastes and insights.
    Always
    Yisraela

    • Thank you Yisraela. I must say, your blog did give me a sense of warmth and interesting view point. It is good to hear you write poetry and I look forward to read them.
      Warm Regards
      Arjun

Leave a Reply

